Ekam Preet

Updated on:

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has taken the world of cricket by storm since its inception in 2008. This cash-rich league, which attracts some of the biggest cricketing names from all over the world, has become one of the most popular and lucrative cricket tournaments globally. Along with the teams, players, and fans, the IPL has another significant element that adds to its charm and prestige – The IPL Purple Cup 2023 . Its just to create a sense of competition among the bowlers .


IPL 2023 Purple CAP Holder Latest

What is the IPL Purple Cup?

1MOHAMMAD SHAMIGT1793521014.5224710
2TUSHAR DESHPANDECSK171034.220621.7637000
3ARSHDEE SINGHPBKS161036.522122.5636110
4PIYUSH CHAWLAMI1593521017.0025500
5MOHAMMAD SIRAJRCB1593521017.2025810
6RASHID KHANGT1593621620.5330800
7RAVINDRA JADEJACSK14103521017.9225100
8VARUN CHAKARAVARTHYKKR141037.422621.5030110
9RAVICHANDRAN ASHWINRR13093621620.0026000
10RAVI BISHNOILSG121034.320722.3326800
11YUZVENDRA CHAHALRR1293319823.2527910
12Mayank MarkandeSRH1172816816.631831
13MARK WOODLSG114169611.8113001
14HARSHAL PATELRCB11933.320128.6331500
15TRENT BOULTRR1072816823.4023400

The IPL Purple Cup is an award given to the highest wicket-taker of the tournament. The name of the trophy is inspired by the purple color associated with the league’s official broadcaster, Star Sports. The Purple Cap was introduced in 2008, along with the Orange Cap, which is awarded to the leading run-scorer of the tournament.

The History of the IPL Purple Cup

The Purple Cap is an award introduced by the IPL governing body to recognise the bowler who takes the most wickets in a season. The cap is literally a bright Purple cap worn by the current top wicket taker , and it changes hands as different players lead the charts throughout the season. At the end of the tournament, the highest Wicket Taker is awarded the Purple Cap, signifying their dominance with the ball.

The IPL Purple Cap was first introduced in the inaugural season of the league in 2008. The legendary Pakistani pacer, Sohail Tanvir, was the recipient of the first-ever Purple Cap. Tanvir played for the Rajasthan Royals in that season and picked up 22 wickets in just 11 matches, at an impressive average of 12.09. He played a crucial role in helping the Royals win the tournament that year.

2008Chennai Super KingsSohail Tanvir22
2009Deccan ChargersR.P. Singh23
2010Mumbai IndiansPragyan Ojha21
2011Chennai Super KingsLasith Malinga28
2012Delhi DaredevilsMorne Morkel25
2013Chennai Super KingsDwayne Bravo32
2014Kings XI PunjabMohit Sharma23
2015Kolkata Knight RidersDwayne Bravo26
2016Sunrisers HyderabadBhuvneshwar Kumar23
2017Mumbai IndiansBhuvneshwar Kumar26
2018Sunrisers HyderabadAndrew Tye24
2019Imperial CapitalsKagiso Rabada25
2020Mumbai IndiansKagiso Rabada30
2021Chennai Super KingsHarshal Patel32

Factors Influencing IPL Purple CUP

The IPL Purple CUP is an award given to the bowler with the most number of wickets in a single season of the Indian Premier League. Its just not award its the hard work ,competition and dedication ,pitch conditions , team combinations comes into play when determining the winner of the IPL Purple CUP.


While the IPL Purple CUP may seem like a straightforward award, there are several factors that come into play when determining the winner. A player’s bowling style, team composition, form and fitness, and matchups and strategy can all influence their chances of taking wickets and winning the award.

As the IPL enters its 14th edition, fans and players alike will be eagerly watching to see which bowler will come out on top and win the coveted IPL Purple CUP.

Leave a comment