Most 200+ scores in ipl by teams

Ekam Preet

Updated on:


The Indian Premier League has received love and support since the beginning of season 1 and is continuing to do so . The popularity of the Indian Premier League has increased rapidly over the past few years . It is like a dream come true for cricket fans to see their favourite national and international players play together in a team . But what is more interesting is seeing a team score 200+ runs in T20 matches . It always brings enthusiasm , joy and keeps the interest of the audience alive till the end . Many teams have scored 200+ runs in the IPL numerous times . But the highest score till date is 263 by none other than the Royal challengers Bangalore . Take a glance at the following top 10 list and check how many times your favourite team scored 200+ runs in the IPL :

Chennai Super Kings272007225
Royal Challengers Bangalore241507263
Punjab Kings211407232
Kolkata Knight Riders191108245
Mumbai Indians191503235
Rajasthan Royals171304226
Sunrisers Hyderabad131102231
Delhi Capitals100901231
Lucknow Super Giants050401257
Gujarat Titans020101207

Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings are one of the most famous teams in the IPL . The four-time champions CSK have scored 200+ runs 27 times till date . With an experienced captain like M.S. Dhoni , it feels easy to score a big target like 200+ . CSK has won 20 matches out of the 27 matches they have scored 200+ in . Anyway , the team has always been successful in showing its consistency and hard work .

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Royal Challengers Bangalore is one of the most liked ipl teams . RCB holds the record of having the highest score in IPL history, which is 263 . Even though RCB has not lifted the IPL trophy yet, it is the second team who has scored 200+ in the IPL 23 times . A.B.De Villiers , Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli were the most famous trio , until the former two took retirement . The 2016 RCB was at its peak as it was only then when they reached the final .

Punjab Kings

Punjab Kings , formerly known as Kings XI Punjab , have scored 200+above 21 times . Out of which they have won 14 matches and lost 7 to the opposition . The 2014 Punjab Kings, or KXIP, was in its prime with players like Virendra Sehwag , Glenn Maxwell , George Bailey , Mitchell Johnson and David Miller etc . Although KXIP reached the finals , they unfortunately lost the trophy to KKR .

Kolkata Knight Riders

The two times ipl champions have scored 200+ above 19 times till date . Under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir , KKR gained a massive fan following and popularity . The highest score made by KKR was 256 against Punjab Kings in 2018 . The Shah Rukh Khan and Juhi Chawla’s team is not less than any other team in proving their dominance . KKR reached the final in 2021 but ended up being runner up .

Mumbai Indians

The fourth spot in the 200+ score is shared by Mumbai Indians along with Kolkata Knight Riders as they have made it 19 times as well . The 5-time champions Mumbai Indians have had the most amazing combination of cricketers . The highest score made by Mumbai Indians is 235/9 against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the year 2021 . The Mumbai Indians have won their last ipl trophy in the year 2021 .

Rajasthan Royals

Rajasthan Royals have won the PL one time in IPL history . The team had amazing and exceptional batsmen who helped Rajasthan Royals to score 200+ 17 times . Out of which they won 13 matches with 4 defeats .The highest score Rajasthan Royals have made is 226 runs against Punjab Kings in the year 2020 . The Rajasthan Royals is first team to lift the IPL trophy .

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Sunrisers Hyderabad , the winner of The IPL in 2016 , have scored 200+ runs 13 times in total, in which they have won 11 matches . The 2016 SRH , under the captaincy of David Warner , is said to be in its prime as they defeated the Royal challengers Bangalore to lift the IPL trophy . The highest total scored by Sunrisers Hyderabad is against Royal Challengers Bangalore only i.e. 231/2 in the year 2019 .

Delhi Capitals

The Delhi Capitals have scored 200+ targets 10 times till now, in which they have won 9 times . Even though Delhi Capitals have not been able to win any IPL trophy yet, they are still loved by the fans for their strategy and strong gameplay . The highest score which has been made by Delhi Capitals is 231/4 against Kings XI Punjab ( now Punjab Kings ) at the Delhi stadium on 23 April 2011 and they won the match by the margin of 29 runs .

Lucknow Super Giants

Lucknow Super Giants have gained a massive fan following and popularity in literally no time . The team was introduced in 2021-22 . They have achieved the milestone of scoring 200+ runs in two seasons only . LSG have scored 200 runs goals 5 times now , out of which they have won 4 matches . The highest score of LSG was against four-time champions Punjab Kings, i.e. 257 runs .

Gujarat Titans

Gujarat Titans is a new team who won the IPL in their very first season ( 2022 ) . With players like Hardik Pandya , David Miller and Shubman Gill , they have scored 200+ runs for two times now . But they won only one match out of the two . The highest score of Gujarat Titans is 207/6 against the Mumbai Indians at Motera Stadium on 25 April 2023 . GT is performing amazingly this year as well .


In conclusion , it is always fun to watch teams setting and chasing big scores as it brings joy and curiosity to the audience . Besides the above-mentioned teams , Deccan Chargers and Gujarat Lions have also made 200+ scores one- one time in their time period . The audience has loved watching their favourite teams’ big scores from the beginning and continues to do so . The IPL 2023 has contributed to the stats as well and the audience is expecting some more new records to be formed .

Leave a comment